Family, Personal & Social Issues Price list in India

Problems Title
Bridge to Terabithia (A Puffin Book)

Bridge to Terabithia (A Puffin Book)

Jess Aarons wants to be the fastest boy in the class, but when a girl named Leslie Burke moves into the neighbouring farm his life changes forever. Even though she runs faster than him, Jess begins to think Leslie might be okay - she's clever and funny and not a bit soppy. And it is Leslie who invents Terabithia, the secret country on an island across the creek where he can escape his troublesome family.The only way to reach Terabithia is by rope-swing where Jess and Leslie become King and Queen, defeating giants, sharing stories and dreams, and plotting against their enemies. They are invincible - until tragedy strikes. It is more dreadful than anything Jess had ever dreamed of, but as he struggles to cope with his grief and anger, he finds that his family value him more than he'd thought and that, still King, he could even save Terabithia for the future.

Out of My Mind

Out of My Mind

Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list!

“If there’s one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it.” —Denver Post
“A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“Unflinching and realistic.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Uplifting…This moving novel will makes activists of us all.” —Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio’s Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can’t walk. She can’t talk. She can’t write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She’s the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people—her teachers, her doctors, her classmates—dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can’t tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she’s determined to let everyone know it…somehow.

The Night Diary

The Night Diary

In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal and hopeful tale of India’s partition and of one girl’s journey to find a new home in a divided country

It’s 1947 and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders.

Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn’t know where she belongs or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it’s too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult and dangerous and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can’t imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together.

Told through Nisha’s letters to her mother, The Night Diary is a heartfelt story of one girl’s search for home, for her own identity…and for a hopeful future.

Gone Grandmother

Gone Grandmother

Nani has gone. Forever. Where? asks Nina. Her mother grapples with answers but Nina won’t stop asking. Finally, she finds her own answers, through the warmth of memories, the comfort of imagination – and a little bit of natural science! The light touch and tone of the story along with the quietly reflective pictures treat the difficult subject of the loss of a loved one in a sensitive and refreshing way.

Farmer Falgu Goes to the Kumbh Mela

Farmer Falgu Goes to the Kumbh Mela

This hardcover picture book is the third in the much-loved Farmer Falgu series. It follows the kindhearted farmer as he journeys to the Kumbh Mela festival. Farmer Falgu always stops to lend a hand, and this story is a gentle reminder that nice guys don't always finish last. Kanika Nair's striking illustrations capture the colorful chaos and celebration that the Kumbh Mela is, in this charming and thoughtful tale written by award-winning children's book author Chitra Soundar.

The Boy who Drew Cats (Karadi Tales (Paperback))

The Boy who Drew Cats (Karadi Tales (Paperback))

Akiro, a young Japanese boy, drew only cats. Cats, cats and more cats! No matter what he was asked to do, all he did was draw cats everywhere and this artistic tendency led to an adventure for him one day, an adventure that would change his life. Go on a journey to Japan in this folktale retold by Anushka Ravishankar with illustrations in the Japanese style by Christine Kastl in water colors and ink.

What Do You Do With A Problem?

What Do You Do With A Problem?

"What do you do with a problem? Especially one that follows you around and doesn't seem to be going away? Do you worry about it? Ignore it? Do you run and hide from it? This is the story of a persistent problem and the child who isn't so sure what to make of it. The longer the problem is avoided, the bigger it seems to get. But when the child finally musters up the courage to face it, the problem turns out to be something quite different than it appeared. This is a story for anyone, at any age, who has ever had a problem that they wished would go away. It's a story to inspire you to look closely at that problem and to find out why it's here. Because you might discover something amazing about your problem]] and yourself. What are problems for? They challenge us, shape us, push us, and help us to discover just how strong and brave and capable we really are. Even though we don't always want them, problems have a way of bringing unexpected gifts. So, what will you do with your problem?

The Most Magnificent Thing

The Most Magnificent Thing

Award-winning author and illustrator Ashley Spires has created a charming picture book about an unnamed girl and her very best friend, who happens to be a dog. The girl has a wonderful idea. ?She is going to make the most MAGNIFICENT thing! She knows just how it will look. She knows just how it will work. All she has to do is make it, and she makes things all the time. Easy-peasy!? But making her magnificent thing is anything but easy, and the girl tries and fails, repeatedly. Eventually, the girl gets really, really mad. She is so mad, in fact, that she quits. But after her dog convinces her to take a walk, she comes back to her project with renewed enthusiasm and manages to get it just right.

For the early grades' exploration of character education, this funny book offers a perfect example of the rewards of perseverance and creativity. The girl's frustration and anger are vividly depicted in the detailed art, and the story offers good options for dealing honestly with these feelings, while at the same time reassuring children that it's okay to make mistakes. The clever use of verbs in groups of threes is both fun and functional, offering opportunities for wonderful vocabulary enrichment. The girl doesn't just ?make? her magnificent thing --- she ?tinkers and hammers and measures,? she ?smoothes and wrenches and fiddles,? she ?twists and tweaks and fastens.? These precise action words are likely to fire up the imaginations of youngsters eager to create their own inventions and is a great tie-in to learning about Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

Spaghetti in a Hot Dog Bun: Having the Courage To Be Who You Are

Spaghetti in a Hot Dog Bun: Having the Courage To Be Who You Are

Lucy's grandpa has always taught her the importance of treating others the way you would want to be treated, and that it's okay to be different. When Lucy's classmate Ralph starts teasing her at school, Lucy makes a very courageous decision to stand up for herself and what she believes.

Bot