Rated 4.3/5 based on 103
Awesome Book - by , @book.updated_at
5/ 5stars
This is an awesome book, we should definitely buy it.
Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue

Book Specification

Binding Hardcover , Hardcover
Language English
Number Of Pages 336
Author Ryan Holiday
Publisher Portfolio
Isbn-10 0783118457
Isbn-13 9780735217645
Dimension 16.03*2.87*23.65

Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue

Ryan Holiday's Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue

In the tradition of Janet Malcolm's THE JOURNALIST AND THE MURDERER and Robert Greene's THE 48 LAWS OF POWER, author Ryan Holiday examines the case that rocked the media world--and the billionaire mastermind behind it

In 2007, a short blogpost on Valleywag, the Silicon Valley-vertical of Gawker Media, outed PayPal founder and billionaire investor Peter Thiel as gay. Thiel's Sexuality had been known to close friends and family, but he didn't consider himself a public figure, and believed the information was private.

This post would be the casus belli for a meticulously plotted conspiracy that would end nearly a decade later with a $140 million dollar judgment against Gawker, its bankruptcy and with Nick Denton, Gawker's CEO and founder, out of a job. Only later would the World learn that Gawker's demise was not incidental--it had been masterminded by Thiel.

For years, Thiel had searched endlessly for a solution to what he'd come to call the "Gawker Problem." When an unmarked envelope delivered an illegally recorded sex tape of Hogan with his best friend's wife, Gawker had seen the chance for millions of pageviews and to say the things that others were afraid to say. Thiel saw their publication of the tape as the opportunity he was looking for. He would come to pit Hogan against Gawker in a multi-year proxy war through the Florida legal system, while Gawker remained confidently convinced they would prevail as they had over so many other lawsuit--until it was too late.

The verdict would stun the World and so would Peter's ultimate unmasking as the man who had set it all in motion. Why had he done this? How had no one discovered it? What would this mean--for the First Amendment? For privacy? For culture?

In Holiday's masterful telling of this nearly unbelievable conspiracy, informed by interviews with all the key players, this case transcends the narrative of how one billionaire took down a media empire or the current state of the free press. It's a study in power, strategy, and one of the most wildly ambitious--and successful--secret plots in recent memory.

Some will cheer Gawker's destruction and others will lament it, but after reading these pages--and seeing the access the author was given--no one will deny that there is something ruthless and brilliant about Peter Thiel's shocking attempt to shake up the world.
Store Price Buy Now
Amazon, Hardcover Rs. 1408.0
Amazon, Hardcover Rs. 1074.0 Buy Now

Why you should read Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue by Ryan Holiday

This book has been written by Ryan Holiday, who has written books like Stillness Is the Key,Stillness is the Key: An Ancient Strategy for Modern Life,Conspiracy: A True Story of Power, Sex, and a Billionaire's Secret Plot to Destroy a Media Empire,Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue,Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue. The books are written in Business, Strategy & Management,Biographies & Autobiographies category. This book is read by people who are interested in reading books in category : Biographies & Autobiographies. So, if you want to explore books similar to This book, you must read and buy this book.

Other books by same author

Book Binding Language
Stillness Is the Key Hardcover English
Stillness is the Key: An Ancient Strategy for Modern Life Hardcover English
Conspiracy: A True Story of Power, Sex, and a Billionaire's Secret Plot to Destroy a Media Empire Paperback English
Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue Hardcover English
Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue Hardcover English
Trust Me I'm Lying: Confessions of a Media Manipulator Paperback English
The Daily Stoic: 366 Meditations on Wisdom, Perseverance, and the Art of Living: Featuring new translations of Seneca, Epictetus, and Marcus Aurelius Paperback English
Perennial Seller: The Art of Making and Marketing Work that Lasts Hardcover English
Perennial Seller: The Art of Making and Marketing Work that Lasts Paperback English
Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising Paperback English
Trust Me, I'm Lying: Confessions of a Media Manipulator Paperback English
The Daily Stoic: 366 Meditations on Wisdom, Perseverance, and the Art of Living Hardcover English
Ego is the Enemy Hardcover English
The Daily Stoic: 366 Meditations on Wisdom, Perseverance, and the Art of Living: Featuring new translations of Seneca, Epictetus, and Marcus Aurelius Paperback English
The Obstacle is the Way: The Ancient Art of Turning Adversity to Advantage Hardcover English

How long would it take for you to read Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue

Depending on your reading style, this is how much time you would take to complete reading this book.

Reading Style Time To Finish The Book
Slow 67 hours
Average 33 hours
Good 22 hours
Excellent 11 hours
So if you are a Reader belonging in the Good category, and you read it daily for 1 hour, it will take you 22 days.
Note: A slow reader usually reads 100 words per minute, an average reader 200 words per minute, an average reader 300 words per minute and an excellent leader reads about 600-1000 words per minute, however the comprehension may vary.

Searches in World for Conspiracy: Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue

City Country Count
25
Top Read Books

Top Reads

Bot